Trial Attorneys

Serving Forsyth County and North Atlanta

Help for Veterans

  • Client Endorsements

    Want to learn about our skills and services? Read what past clients had to say about their experiences.

    Client Testimonials
  • Choose Our Proven Trial Team

    Don’t face the legal system without a skilled advocate in your corner! Find out why should choose Zeliff | Watson.

    Learn More
  • Questions About Your Case?

    Read helpful information we have provided about criminal charges in Georgia and your rights if you're arrested.

    FAQ
  • 24/7 Free Legal Helpline

    Were you arrested? Are you facing charges? Contact us today and find out how we may be able to help you.

    Free Consultation

Does DUI Require Jail Time in Georgia?

A top priority of most DUI clients is to stay out of jail no matter what. Of course, this is one of our goals and will certainly factor into how we build your defense. Even on a first DUI in Georgia, you are usually facing more jail time, so read this article early on to understand how the system works.

Under Georgia law, DUI jail time depends on how many prior DUI arrests you have had in the past 10 years. The following minimums apply:

  • 1st DUI in 10 years: 24 hours jail
  • 2nd DUI in 10 years: 90 days, with a minimum of 72 hours actual incarceration
  • 3rd DUI in 10 years: 120 days, with a minimum of 15 days actual incarceration
  • 4th DUI in 10 years: 1-5 years, with a minimum of 90 days actual incarceration

As you can see, DUI jail sentences are stacked, with mandatory jail time required, especially on 2nd and subsequent offenses.

With this said, there are some exceptions. A common question deals with DUIs outside of 10 years. Do they still count? Technically, no, but judges and prosecutors alike consider these DUIs when extending plea offers and deciding whether to accept any negotiations in your case. For example, I have had clients where a DUI is their first in the 2000s, but they had a terrible waive of 4 in the 80s and 90s. These cases are still difficult to defend against judges and prosecutors who assume you have a drinking problem and must have fallen off the wagon.

Depending on the jurisdiction, some judges will allow you to not go back to jail on a first DUI. Most courts look at how much time you spent in jail, and factor in good time credit. This means for every hour you spent in jail, you get two hours of credit. So, on a first DUI you must really sit in jail 12 hours, rather than a full 24. I've seen judges not even ask, and I've seen plenty of judges check the jail log to see, down to the minute, how long someone stayed in jail.

If you want to avoid jail time all together, it takes a combination of a proactive approach to your defense and achieving a non-DUI outcome. From our first meeting, we will detail the strengths and weaknesses of your case, as well as our approach to your specific defense. No two cases are alike, so we never give standard or boilerplate advice. What we do execute is a proactive, aggressive defense designed to force the prosecution into extending the best deal possible to you. Avoiding jail time, saving your driver's license and salvaging your record are our top goals.

If you have questions about how we can defend your DUI, call us anytime, 24/7/365.

Categories: DUI

Contact Zeliff & Watson!

Arrested for DUI? Let us help you.

Evan Watson is amazing. I had the help of Evan and he saved my licence and job. I recieved a dui while visiting Atlanta from C.A. The trip turned into a nightmare that could have destroyed my career. Evan made it all disappear not a single charge went through. He is honest, smart, and reliable. I was able to get in contact with him at all times needed and if he could not answer the cell phone he ... - Jose R
Read More