Trial Attorneys

Serving Forsyth County and North Atlanta

Help for Veterans

  • Client Endorsements

    Want to learn about our skills and services? Read what past clients had to say about their experiences.

    Client Testimonials
  • Choose Our Proven Trial Team

    Don’t face the legal system without a skilled advocate in your corner! Find out why should choose Zeliff | Watson.

    Learn More
  • Questions About Your Case?

    Read helpful information we have provided about criminal charges in Georgia and your rights if you're arrested.

    FAQ
  • 24/7 Free Legal Helpline

    Were you arrested? Are you facing charges? Contact us today and find out how we may be able to help you.

    Free Consultation

Your Rights to a Hearing

Arrested for drunken driving? We can help!

If you've been arrested and charged with DUI, chances are your arresting officer seized your driver's license and will send it to the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) for a DUI license suspension. This action is separate from the criminal DUI charges you face. One of the first steps a knowledgeable DUI lawyer from Zeliff | Watson takes after your arrest is to claim your right to a license suspension hearing, before your license is administratively suspended. The right to a hearing is available under Georgia DUI law, but it is waived if you do not comply with our state's 10 day warning rule.

We can represent you at this hearing, working aggressively to prevent the suspension of your driver's license. Under specific circumstances, you may be able to get a limited driving permit so that you can drive to work, undertake the ordinary duties of your job or go to medical appointments and other necessary functions.

More on Suspended Licenses

When you were arrested and booked on your DUI charges, you will usually have been made to sign a Form 1205. Along with other information, this form contains the results of your breath or blood test or the fact that you refused testing. You should have received a copy of this form at the time of arrest, though failure to do so will not prevent the DDS from suspending your license. After you have been given the form, the officer will send it, along with your Georgia or out of state license to the DDS for suspension.

If your "10 day letter" is not sent in on time, your license will automatically be suspended on the 31st day after your arrest. Driving on a suspended license is itself a crime, punishable by time in jail and additional loss of your driving privileges. Your license suspension hearing is usually held within 30-90 days after your letter is received but no matter the outcome, we strive to use this hearing to see what the evidence against you is. This allows us to design the most effective defense strategy possible for your criminal DUI charges.

It is vital that your rights are protected in this hearing and that you have the best representation possible in your case.

Contact a DUI attorney to find out your legal rights and options when facing a driver's license suspension.

Contact Zeliff & Watson!

Arrested for DUI? Let us help you.

I was arrested for 11 different charges 2 of which were felonies if it wasn't for Evan I would probably still be in jail right now. With Evan fighting for me I got all of my charges dropped except for 2 and those 2 were both misdemeanors. Evan did wonderful job fighting for me and not only that he actually listened to what I had to say and believed me when I told him what happened that night I got ... - tim gibbs
Read More