10 Day Warning Rule
Defense Against License Suspension
If you have been arrested in Forsyth County for Driving Under the Influence (DUI), and either refused to submit to chemical testing, or tested over the legal limit, you only have 10 business days to notify the Georgia Department of Driver Services of your planned appeal of the suspension of your Georgia driver's license or privileges to drive in the State of Georgia.
The suspension of your license actually has nothing to do with your DUI charges. Instead, it has to do with your violation of the implied consent clause. Whenever a driver's license is issued in Georgia, each driver signs an agreement to comply with police requests for breath or blood samples for DUI testing. They also agree to forgo their driving privileges if they're arrested for DUI or fail a blood/breath test.
However, you have the opportunity to request a hearing before a panel of DDS officials. The hearing will center on whether there was any basis for suspending your license. Hiring an attorney early in the process maximizes your chance of getting your license back, and could even strengthen your chances in court during your actual DUI trial.
Note that your DDS license suspension is separate from the license revocation that occurs if someone is convicted. This is a preliminary suspension based on your violation of implied consent.
If you need to work or get to school while waiting for your trial, then you need to fight for your driving privileges immediately. Call our Forsyth County DUI lawyer today at (770) 676-1340.
New Reinstatement Fee for Suspended Licenses
Under the Georgia DDS's new requirements, your license appeal letter must now include a $150.00 payment along with other pertinent information. Once your letter is received, and if it has been properly submitted, you will receive a hearing date where your arresting officer will attempt to suspend your license. A DUI lawyer can represent you at this hearing, and utilize any evidence or testimony found in your case to challenge the accusations of the arresting officer. With a lawyer's help, you may be able to completely avoid the loss of your driving privileges.
DUI Lawyer Serving Cumming & Forsyth County
Even on a first DUI offense in Forsyth, and under Georgia law, you are facing up to a twelve-month suspension of your driver's license. You may be entitled to a limited driving permit that would allow you to get to work, school, and medical appointments, depending on whether or not you submitted to testing under Georgia's implied consent law. If you have been pulled over and arrested for DUI here in Forsyth County, we at Zeliff | Watson can help you review your options and defenses in an attempt to save your driver's license.
Remember, once you have missed the DDS window for an appeal, or if you have unsuccessfully appealed your suspension, your license will stay suspended unless and until you have your DUI charges dismissed. Contact us today and let us go over Georgia's 10-day requirement with you.
If you have been arrested for DUI, contact a DUI attorney who may be able to prevent the suspension of your drivers' license.