DUI FAQsDon’t face the legal system without a skilled advocate on your side.
What should I do if I am charged with DUI?
Your first action should be that of contacting a DUI attorney as soon as you are able. The DUI laws in our state are very complex, and involve many different penalties for different DUI scenarios. If information necessary to your defense is not collected and preserved, then the likelihood that you will face these penalties will increase. An attorney can investigate your charges in order to obtain information, evidence, and testimony, and use these assets to fight for a beneficial resolution to your case.
Will I automatically lose my license after being arrested for DUI?
No. You have 10 days to schedule a hearing with the Georgia Department of Driver Services in which you will appeal to keep your driving privileges. If your appeal is successful, then your drivers' license will be left alone. If the appeal is not successful, you could lose the license for up to one year.
Our firm handles these hearings from A-Z. We will file your appeal letter at our first consultation, ensuring it gets to the Dept. of Driver Services without fail. We will then file all necessary paperwork, discovery motions, and even subpoenas to recover all available evidence for your driver's license hearing. Before the hearing, we will make sure you understand the process and potential outcomes for your license at the hearing.
If my license is suspended, can I get a limited license that allows me to travel to and from work?
In most cases, yes. Depending on your driving history, you may be able to get a Georgia Limited Driver's Permit that allows you to drive to work, school, dependents, etc. It will also allow you to drive between different locations if your job duties require some travel. We will counsel you at our first appointment about whether or not you will be eligible for a limited permit and how we can obtain one. Generally,
- 1st DUI, 21+ years old, tested .08 or higher: YES to limited permit
- 1st DUI, 21+ years old, refused test: NO to limited permit
- 2nd, 3rd, 4th DUI, 21+ years old: often NO permit, however, there are exceptions
- Under 21 years old: NO limited permit, though possible permit during administrative suspension
How long will my DUI case take?
DUI cases can take from months to years to resolve. This will depend on your goals, our negotiations, and the court jurisdictions involved. Typically, municipal courts move rather quickly, however, county courts can have back logs of months and even years. At our consultaton, we will advise you on potential wait times in your DUI case.
How long will my DUI conviction remain on my record?
In GA, a DUI conviction will remain on your criminal record for life. However, reduced charges will help ease the stigma on your record, and if you are victorious at trial, your DUI arrest may actually be expunged or restricted from your record.
Contact a DUI lawyer who can give you further information about DUI defense, as well as provide you with legal representation if you are facing DUI charges.
Fill out the form below to request your free case evaluation and one of our team members will reach out to gather more information. Please feel free to call us at 770-676-1340.