Georgia Vehicular Homicide Charges Explained
In Georgia, there are two tiers of vehicular homicide: first degree vehicular homicide and second degree vehicular homicide. While second degree vehicular homicide is a misdemeanor charge, vehicular homicide in the first degree is a felony charge typically carrying a prison sentence of 3-25 years. The minimum sentence is increased to 5-20 years if you committed vehicular homicide while under a habitual violator revocation.
Under Georgia law, vehicular homicide in the first degree is a felony and can be committed in the following ways:
1. Causing a death while passing a school bus
2. Causing a death while committing the act of reckless driving
3. Causing a death while DUI
4. Causing a death while fleeing and attempting to elude law enforcement
5. Leaving the scene of an accident resulting in a death
All other traffic violations resulting in a death fall under second degree vehicular homicide and are punished as misdemeanor crimes. This means a maximum fine of $1,000 and up to 12 months in jail can be imposed by a judge upon conviction.
For more information on vehicular homicide charges or if you would like to discuss a specific case, please call our office directly or fill out the contact form on our website. Our office handles hundreds of traffic and related criminal cases every year and we will sit down with you and give you our advice and your defense.