Georgia Traffic Tickets: License Suspension Offenses
The Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) assigns a point value to all moving violations in Georgia. All moving violations will put 3 points on your driving record, while certain offenses actually carry more points. For drivers 21 years of age or older, you are allowed 15 points in any 2 year period before your license will be automatically suspended. Additionally, certain traffic tickets will automatically suspend your license if you enter a guilty or no contest plea. These offenses are:
1. Any felony where a vehicle is used
2. Applying for or using a fraudulent Georgia license or I.D. card
3. Driving with suspended registration, revoked registration, or cancelled registration
5. Hit and Run or Leaving the Scene of an Accident
6. Felony Forgery of I.D.
7. Homicide by Vehicle
8. Serious Injury by Vehicle
9. Fleeing or Attempting to Elude a Police Officer in a Vehicle
While not every traffic ticket will result in a suspension of your license, you should always consult with a lawyer before attending court and closing your case. Depending on your past record, you may have more points than you realize and pleading guilty or even no contest may not do you any good. Additionally, some courts and prosecutors have special programs, or will negotiate with your attorney in order to avoid high points on your driving record.
If you have been cited for a traffic ticket in the Atlanta area, including all areas of North Atlanta and Forsyth County, call me directly today to discuss your best options and access the impact your ticket could have on your record. Remember, insurance companies also get their records from the State, so if the reporting of your ticket can be avoided, this can help your rates stay low. I can be reached at (404) 642-6333 or firstname.lastname@example.org 24/7.